System Event Notification Service not starting on boot

Failed to connect to a windows service

Windows could not connect to the System Event Notification Service service. This problem prevents limited users from logging on to the system. As an administrative user, you can review the System Event Log for details about why the service didn’t respond.

I’ve been having a problem with this ever since I started using Windows 7. Intermittently Windows will boot up very slowly and either make it to my login with full profile but display the above message, or will end up in a temporary login which I will have to log off of and log back into. I’ve tried reinstalling Windows 7 from scratch (twice) but this problem always comes back. It finally got so frustrating I thought I would spend several hours trying to fix it. Occasionally this problem would also coincide with the Audio service not starting, but lately that had happened less.

My first assumption was that it was an update or driver that was causing the problem. So, I wanted to install, patch, update drivers in a sequence and then check everything was fine in-between reboots. I reinstalled and the problem came back nearly immediately and I couldn’t tie it to one step in particularly. I did a bit of searching for possible solutions and it transpired I had a “Windows Audio Endpoint Builder” error message in my start up logs.

I don’t know what prompted me to do this, but I went into my BIOS and checked I had disabled the on-board audio (I have an external Firewire sound card).  This immediately fixed the problem for me. It could be that if you updated the drivers for the on-board audio the problem would go away, also, so worth trying that as well. For the record I have an Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe. These have on-board sound using an ADI 1988B chipset.

No comments yet

Leave a comment